Catherine Balkin, Chair of the 2007 ALAN Award Committee, has announced that the ALAN Award Committee has voted to honor Teri Lesesne with the 2007 ALAN Award. Lesesne, (aka

) author of Making the Match and Naked Reading, is a renowned advocate of Young Adult literature.  She is an active leader in ALAN, NCTE, ALA, and a host of professional organizations .The award will be officially announced and presented at the annual ALAN Breakfast during the NCTE Convention, November 2007 in New York.

Almost from its inception, ALAN has given the ALAN award to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of adolescent literature. The recipient may be a publisher, author, librarian, scholar, editor, or servant to the organization. Each year, an honoree is chosen by the Executive Board and receives the ALAN Award at the annual ALAN breakfast, which is held early morning Saturday during the NCTE Convention. A list of past honorees includes  Marc Aronson, Virginia Monseau, Jerry Spinelli, Jacqueline Woodson, Patty Campbell, and M.E. Kerr