Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for
young adults. Melina Marchetta, author of Jellicoe Road, is the
2009 Printz Award winner. The book is published by HarperTeen, an
imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Four Printz Honor Books also were named:

  • The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II, The Kingdom on
    the Waves
    , by M.T. Anderson, published by Candlewick Press;
  • The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, by E. Lockhart,
    published by Hyperion Books for Children, an imprint of Disney Book
  • Nation, by Terry Pratchett, published by HarperCollins
    Children’s Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers;
  • Tender Morsels, by Margo Lanagan, published by Alfred A.
    Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of
    Random House, Inc., New York.