The 2015 Katherine Paterson Prize for Young Adult & Children’s Writing Winners have been announced. A huge congratulations to my former student, Catey Miller, for a Special Mention for her story “In the Middle of the Night.”

Judge: Ammi-Joan Paquette

First Place: Rachel Furey, for her YA fiction, “Tilt-a-Whirl”

Category Winners:

  • Picture Book: Elaine Alexander for “Angler Fish: Black Devil of the Deep”
  • Middle Grade: Mathangi Subramanian for “Banu the Builder”
  • Young Adult: Sharry Wright for “The Lies and Illusions of Lucy Sparrow”

Special Mentions:

  • Picture Book: Helen Kampion for “Paddy Cats”
  • Middle Grade: Callie Miller for “Attack of the Giant Meatball”
  • Young Adult: Catherine Miller for “In the Middle of the Night” (Young Adult)

And the rest of the 2015 Finalists:

  • Natalie Rompella “The World Never Sleeps” (Picture Book)
  • Sylvia Smith “Wishbone the Mechanic” (Picture Book)
  • Shari Swanson “Abe’s Honey” (Picture Book)
  • Ann Schoenbohm “The Sketchbook” (Middle Grade)
  • Caitlin Gutheil “Geodes” (Middle Grade)
  • Amy Emm “How to Knit Your Own Boyfriend and Other Easy Projects” (YA)
  • Laura McCaffrey “265 Days of Furie” (YA)
  • Holly Thompson “The Ridge Path” (YA)

The winning pieces will be published at Hunger Mountain soon. Congratulations to the winners, special mentions, and finalists! Learn more about our Katherine Paterson Prize here.


Written by : thunderchikin

Subscribe To My Newsletter



Leave A Comment