The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English
(NCTE) is pleased and proud to announce the winner of the inaugural Amelia Elizabeth Walden
Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. Established in 2008 to honor the wishes of young adult
author, Amelia Elizabeth Walden, the award allows for the sum of $5,000 to be presented annually
to the author of a young adult title selected by the ALAN Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award
Committee as demonstrating a positive approach to life, widespread teen appeal, and literary merit.
The winner of the 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award is:

Fire by Kristin Cashore

The 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award finalists are:
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork
(Arthur A. Levine)
The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
(Simon and Schuster)
North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley
(Little, Brown and Company)
The Sweetheart of Prosper County by Jill S. Alexander
(Feiwel and Friends)

All Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award titles will be identified by an award sticker—gold for the winner
and silver for the four finalists. This year’s winning title and finalists will be honored at an open
reception on Monday, November 22, immediately following the 2010 ALAN Workshop in Orlando,

The 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee would like to thank: the Amelia Elizabeth
Walden Award Foundation; the ALAN Executive Council; the ALAN Board of Directors; past AEWA
chair Dr. Wendy Glenn; NCTE; and last, but not least, the more than twenty publishers who submitted
titles for consideration.

The 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee considered 202 young adult titles throughout
the process. The committee was comprised of ten members representing the university, K-12 school,
and library communities.

They are:
Daria Plumb, Committee Chair
Classroom Teacher
Riverside Academy, Dundee, MI
Erica Berg
Classroom Teacher
Rockville High School, Vernon, CT
Jean Boreen
Northern Arizona University, Department of English, Flagstaff, AZ
C.J. Bott
Retired Classroom Teacher and Consultant
Solon, OH
Lois Buckman
Caney Creek High School, Conroe, TX
Jeff Harr
Classroom Teacher
Theodore Roosevelt High School, Kent, OH
Jeff Kaplan
Associate Professor
University of Central Florida, College of Education, Orlando, FL
Bonnie Kunzel
Youth Services and Adolescent Literacy Consultant
Germantown, TN
Teri Lesesne
Sam Houston State University, Department of Library Science, Huntsville, TX
Barbara Ward
Assistant Professor
Washington State University, Department of Teaching and Learning, Richland, WA