The 2011 ALAN Workshop will be hosted at the Chicago Hilton from November 20-22
and will continue the tradition of celebrating the very best of young adult literature. This
year’s lineup is wonderful indeed:

M.T. Anderson will deliver the keynote address at the Workshop, and Jacqueline
Woodson will serve as the 2011 ALAN Breakfast speaker (Saturday morning, November
19, during NCTE).

Several fantastic authors will speak on Monday, including Angela Johnson, Walter
Dean Myers, Richard Peck, Janet Tashjian, Sean Beaudoin, John Green, Matt de la
Peña, Leslie Margolis, Wendy Mass, Sarah Weeks, Rita Williams-Garcia, Sarah Dessen,
Lauren Myracle, Cheryl Rainfield, Andrew Smith, Paul Yee, Kazu Kibuishi, Maureen
Johnson, Abby McDonald, and Laurie Halse Anderson. The evening will conclude with
a reception honoring the finalists for the Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award (AEWA).

Tuesday will feature an equally impressive collection of authors, including Chris
Crutcher, Cara Chow, Sharon Draper, J.L. Powers, Matthew Quick, Cassandra Clare,
Jennifer Donnelly, Neal Schusterman, Coe Booth, B.A. Binns, Simone Elkeles, Stephanie
Perkins, Sara Zarr, James Dashner, Megan McCafferty, Veronica Roth, Dom Testa, Katie
Alender, Beth Fantaskey, Michelle Hodkin, Thanhha Lai, and David Levithan.

The Workshop will begin with a cocktail reception on Sunday evening where attendees
can mingle and chat with participating authors over wine and light snacks. Monday
sessions will be held from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, with the AEWA reception following
from 5:15-6:15 pm. Tuesday sessions will be held from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. We
encourage participants to attend the full workshop to avoid missing any worthwhile
presentations. Space is limited to 500 attendees; registration should open soon at