Now that Shadow on the Sun has published, the Black Hole Sun story arc is complete (at least for now, ::evil laugh::), which has led to some questions about the reading order of the books. The titles are Black Hole Sun (book 1), Invisible Sun (book 2), Shadow on the Sun (books 3), and Rising Sun (book 0). That’s the order in which they were written and published, but it’s not necessarily the order they should be read in.

Rising Sun is a pre-quel novella to Black Hole Sun. It’s the story of how Durango and Vienne became mercenaries and how Durango and Mimi learned to live in the same headspace. I think Rising Sun can be read either first or second, depending on whether you like backstory or not. If you like to dive straight into action, read Black Hole Sun first, then Rising Sun. Here’s where it gets tricky: Invisible Sun can be read as a stand-alone, which means it can be the first book you read. If you do that, then you should definitely read Black Hole Sun next.  Either, way, you should read books 0, 1, and 2 before reading Shadow on the Sun because it is absolutely not a stand-alone, and it should be the last book you read in the series. Unless of course, you’ve already read it first, then I would suggest reading the other books starting with 0 or 1 but definitely not 2.

Clear as mud, right?

Reminder: Black Hole Sun is FREE for the Nook, Kindle, and iTunes until 4/1/2013. Get it while it’s hot. If you do download BHS first, then you should read it first.

The whole Black Hole Sun series:

Rising Sun

Rising Sun, Book 0


Black Hole Sun, Book 1


Black Hole Sun, Book 2


Shadow on the Sun, Book 3